Showing posts with label Address book. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Address book. Show all posts

How to transfer SIM contacts to the deviceHow to transfer SIM contacts to the device

How to transfer SIM contacts to the device

From BlackBerryFAQ

1. On your BlackBerry, go to the Address Book.
2. Open it and click (or press Menu on 8100, 8800, 8300) to see SIM Phone Book.
3. Click SIM Phone Book. The list of your SIM contacts will appear.


  • From here you have 2 options:
a) You may choose to highlight one contact and click to ADD TO ADDRESS BOOK
 
OR
b) You can COPY ALL TO ADDRESS BOOK. If you have a great number of contacts, 
    this may take a while, be patient.


  • Please note that SIM contacts will ONLY contain one phone number per contact entry. Your BB Address Book will have a different arrangement with one Contact Name and several fields of information (Cell phone, Work Phone, Home Phone, email address, etc.) All you SIM contacts will copy to the BB Address Book as separate contacts. You will need to edit each, copy and paste phone numbers from one entry to a main entry. This is best done by syncing your BB back to a program such as MS Outlook where you can use a PC to more easily edit the address book, then sync back to your BlackBerry to update it.

How to Clear/Delete all your Address/Calendar items at once

From BlackBerryFAQ

If you are having errors in your Calendar or Address Book on your BlackBerry, and you wish to delete the entire Calendar (or Address Book) database on your BlackBerry, follow the directions below. Make certain you have a good copy of your Calendar or Contacts elsewhere, as this procedure will complete delete ALL Calendar entries and/or Address Book entries on your BlackBerry.
1. Open Desktop Manager on your PC.
2. Open up Backup/Restore > Advanced.
3. From Advanced you'll see a split pane screen. The left pain is what is going to be backed up from your device and the right is a list of the currently existing databases.
3. Highlight on the right side your Address Book database (or your Calendar database) and click the arrow in the middle pointing to the left. This will copy the information over and prepare it for back-up.
4. Once the back-up has completed, hit the Clear button at the bottom to erase and clean out the entire address book database (or Calendar database).
5. After it's finished, it will ask you if you want to save the back-up you've created, say yes and check the device to make sure the address book has properly cleared out. Now, resync the necessary contact information and you should be set to go.

Backup Blackberry

From BlackBerryFAQ

Question: I need to wipe my device. I know how to back up my personal data using Desktop Manager-Backup/Restore but how do I keep all my 3rd party apps?
Answer: Backup and Restore your 3rd party apps using the Switch Device Wizard by following the procedure below!


1- Download and install the latest version of Desktop Manager 4.2 from here.
2- Plug in the device and run Desktop Manager.
3- Click on “Switch Device Wizard.”
4- Click on “Switch Blackberry Devices.”
5- Click “Next.”
6- Select USB: Your Pin.
7- Click “Next”.
8- Uncheck “User Data and Settings” and “Include Messages” leaving “Third Party Applications checked.
9- Click “Next”.
10- When it’s finished backing up the apps, DO NOT click “Next” or “Cancel.” Leave that screen as it is and continue these instructions.
11- Search your computer files/folders for a folder labeled with your pin number. Be sure and search in hidden and system files.
  • Depending on your OS the location may vary. In one example it is found XP-32bit C:\Documents and Settings\*ProfileName\Local Settings\Temp\*Pin#
12- When you find it copy it to another location.
13- Now go back and “Cancel” the Switch Device Wizard. If you cancel the wizard before copying the folder to another location the folder is automatically emptied.
14- Now wipe your device as desired.
Your backup is complete.

Restore
15- When the OS has been loaded back to the device run Application Loader again and click on “Add”
16- Browse to the folder you copied with your PIN. Double click on the file named yourpin.alx.
17- This should add all your 3rd party apps to the apploader.
18- Finish the installation to load them to your BB.
19- Restore your personal data using the restore feature in Desktop ManagerBackup/Restore

BlackBerry Tips, Tricks

BlackBerry Tips, Tricks, and Keypress Shortcuts
Credits


Important Keys

ALT key = :alt: has half moon on top of it. left side of keyboard below the A.
(Newer blackberry devices have "ALT" spelled out on the key)
CAP key = :cap: bottom right key (AKA SHIFT key)

In General

AT-T-BLACKBERRY-CURVE.jpg
Hold the :alt: key while you roll the thumb-wheel to scroll horizontally in any field where you can enter or view text.
Hold the :alt: key while you roll the thumb-wheel to scroll through a field to view options.
Hold the :cap: key while you roll the thumb-wheel to select multiple items in a list.
alt:+Escape - Allows multitasking, brings up Taskbar on any screen. Similiar to Windows ALT+TAB
alt:+:cap: - Turns on CAPS lock. Hold :alt: first then press :cap: . An oval with an up arrow shows up in the upper right corner of the screen.
cap:+:alt: - Turns on NUM lock. Hold :cap: first then press :alt: . A # sign shows up in the oval in the upper right corner of the screen)
Type the first letter of an item in an options list or menu to jump directly to that item.

Type the first letters of a name or the initials separated by a :space: to find a contact in the Address Book screen.
Press C to compose a new message from the home screen or within Messages. (If this does not work, make sure Phone->Options->"Dial From Home Screen" is turned off. This re-enables keypress shortcuts for icons from the home screen.)
Press :alt:+:enter: to keylock your BlackBerry quickly from the home screen. (Alternate keypress is just press K, but this only works if "Dial From Home Screen" is disabled)

Rearrange the ribbon: In the Home screen (ribbon), hold the :alt: key and click the thumb-wheel to bring up a menu. You can then select Move Icon, Hide Icon, or Show All. If you hide an icon, to show it again click Show all and it will appear with an X over it, bring up the menu on it and uncheck hide icon.
AT-T-BLACKBERRY-CURVE.jpg
The Blackberry display can be backlit to allow reading messages in the dark. To get the light to come on, hit the backlight button usually in the lower right of the keyboard. Hopefully you have a backlit keyboard as well so you can type in the dark.
Turning the radio off and back on when coverage is spotty and you've lost signal seems to help. Also going into network and selecting register now will help. And if you have a phone/combo BB then on some you can go into network and select Scan for networks. then select the network you are on, for example T-mobile, then save. After doing this the radio will reset and you may receive a register message and a new service book, which you can accept from the service book menu in options.


Password protect your BB. To set a password, go to the Options menu to the Security item. Set the desired timeout (I use 15 minutes) and enable/set a password. In conjunction with this, you should also go to the Options menu to the Owner item, and enter your name, phone number, etc. When the password protection kicks in, this is what is displayed on the screen.
After five incorrect attempts at typing in your password, the password starts echoing (figuring you really need all the help you can get). After ten attempts, it performs a lobotomy on itself and almost all data is cleared. The Memo database, however, is retained and visible.

To support more than one signature. Wipe out your auto-signature in the Redirector of the Desktop Software and just use 'AutoText' to configure alternate sigs.

In the Message List

(Some of these work in tasks, memos, and appointments also)

Sorting:

alt:+I - show only incoming mail
alt:+O - show only outgoing mail (messages you have sent - i.e. checkmark icon)
alt:+P - show phone log messages
alt:+S - show SMS messages
alt:+V - show VoiceMail messages

Navigating:

T - go to top of message listing
B - go to end/bottom of message listing
del: - close message listing and return to home screen (ribbon)
space: - pagedown
cap:+:space: - pageup

Deleting multiple messages at once:

Highlight a date (i.e. Fri, Oct 05,2001) in the message list, hit the thumb-wheel and select delete prior. All messages prior to that date will be deleted.
Hold down the :cap: key and use the thumb-wheel to scroll up or down to select messages. Click the thumb-wheel and select 'Delete Messages'. Combine this with a sorting tip to make it even more useful (i.e. To delete the last 5 messages that you have sent (checkmarks), press :alt: then the letter 'O' (for outgoing) this will show all of your sent messages, then per this tip scroll down and select the last five.

While In A Message

Navigating:
enter: or :space: - scroll down a page/screen at a time
alt:+:enter: or :alt:+:space: - scroll back a page/screen at a time
B - scroll to end of page
T - scroll to top of page
U - jump to closest unread message
N - jump to next message
P - jump to previous message
del: - close message and return to message listing

Reply-to/Forward:

R - reply to or answer this message
F - forward this message Select Text (OS v2.1+): Press the :cap: key and then scroll the thumb-wheel to select. If you release the :cap: key and scroll the thumb-wheel you will select entire lines. Press the :cap: key again at any time to start selecting by character again.
Hold down :alt: key + CLICK the thumb-wheel (click it don't hold it down), release the thumb-wheel and then use it to scroll whole lines. You can press and hold the :alt: key at anytime to start selecting by character again.
Click scroll wheel and select SELECT from the menu. scroll wheel to select entire line. click scroll wheel again and select copy. With either method, click the thumb-wheel and select 'Cut Selection' or 'Copy Selection'... to paste, open a new message or whatever, click the thumb-wheel, and then select 'Paste Selection'.

Composing Message

Press and hold a letter to capitalize it (with Key Rate enabled).
Press the :space: key twice to insert a period and capitalize the next letter.
Press the :space: key to insert the "@" and "." characters in an Email field. Backspace and type again to over-ride this like you would with AutoText.
Press and hold a letter key and roll the thumb-wheel to scroll through international/accent characters, equation symbols and other marks.
Calendar (from Agenda screen)
Press T to go to "Today" in the Calendar screen.
Press G to go to a specific date in the Calendar screen.
The default date range for Calendar synchronization in Desktop Manager may not suit most people. While configuring the Calendar synchronization, click the Advanced button and specify the desired range.

Battery

The largest draw on battery life is the transmitter, so if you are transmitting a lot, you can expect reduced battery life. And the backlight.
Being in fringe or no coverage areas will eat up your battery as it attempts to transmit. If you're in an area that is out of range, turn your BB's radio off manually or use Options / Auto On Off to conserve battery life.

Geek Tips

Rather than looking at the bars, you can change the display of the 'signal strength' to read in real numbers. While at the home screen (ribbon), hold down the half moon :alt: key while you type NMLL. The bars should change to read numbers. For the 'signal strength', if you are in the 100 area (that means -100 dBm), you will be transmitting at maximum power (2 Watts), and since coverage is hit and miss at this weak a signal, you may end up transmitting many times before the packets make it through. This might help explain any poorer than normal battery life. I consider anything at -90 to -50 excellent.
To get the bars back: While at the home screen (ribbon), hold down the half moon :alt: key while you type NMLL again.
Hold down the half moon :alt: key -AND- the :cap: key at the same time, then the letter 'H'. This brings up the "Help Me!" screen that lists version, app version, pin, imei, uptime, signal strength, batterylevel, file free, and file total.
Hold down the half moon :alt: while you type LGLG. This brings up the event log where you can clear events (frees some memory) or view them or copy the contents to mail to someone.
alt:+:cap:+:del: will reboot your BB.
AT-T-BLACKBERRY-CURVE.jpg
If you would like to have delivery confirmation for your regular outgoing emails on your BlackBerry, add "" to the beginning of your subject line. You must include the brackets. You will get an email back confirming delivery of your message.

GroupWise Q & A

Groupwise FAQ

How do I change the look of my Inbox screen? Examples:
   

You can control the name that will appear in the Display drop-down list, the source of the items in the folder, the column display, and the order in whichn items will sort in the folder.

To modify a folder display setting:

1. Right-click any folder in the Folder List > click Properties.

2. Click the Display tab.

3. Click the display setting you want to modify in the Setting Name dropdown list.

4. Make any changes to the display settings in the dialog box.

5. Click Save As > change the display settings name as required > click OK.

6. To delete a folder display setting, click the display setting > click Delete.

You can view the items in your Mailbox three different ways, depending on how you want the information organized. Details, Discussion Threads, and As Calendar are all found on the View menu.

Unopened task with a low, standard, or high priority.

Opened task with a low, standard, or high priority.

Unopened reminder note with a low, standard, or high priority.

Opened reminder note with a low, standard, or high priority.

Unopened phone message with a low, standard, or high priority.

Opened phone message with a low, standard, or high priority.

The sender has requested that you reply to this item. The item can be a low, standard, or high priority.

This icon appears in a Busy Search. If it appears to the left of a username or resource, you can click a scheduled time across from the username or resource on the Individual Schedules tab to display more information about the appointment in the box below. However, the user or resource owner must give you appointment Read rights in their Access List before this icon appears.

This icon appears on your Calendar. An alarm is set for the item.

This icon appears on your Calendar. The item is a group appointment, reminder note, or task.

This icon appears on your Calendar. The item is marked private.

This icon appears on your Calendar. You declined the item but didn’t delete it.

Customizing the Toolbar Display

1. If the toolbar is not displayed, click View > Toolbar.

2. Right-click the toolbar > click Properties.

3. Click the Show tab.

4. To remove or show the Display drop-down list, deselect or select the

Show Display Settings Drop-Down List check box.

5. To remove or show the Mode drop-down list, deselect or select the Show Login Mode Drop-Down List check box.

6. Click the Customize tab.

7. To add a button, click a category in the Categories list box > click a button in the Controls box > click Add Button > click OK.

Categories are menu titles in the Main Window. The buttons in the Controls box correspond to features found under the menu title. For example, the buttons for the File category are actions under the File menu

(opening views, printing, saving, and so on).

How do I sort my messages differently?  (e.g., by date received, sender’s name, or subject)
   

You can sort the Item List by clicking a column heading. To reverse the sort order, click the column heading a second time.

How do I create a new e-mail message?
   

1. Click on the toolbar.

You can select a different mail view by clicking the down arrow in .

2. In the To box, type a username > press Enter. Repeat for additional users.

If necessary, type usernames in the CC and BC boxes.

or

To select usernames from a list, click Address > double-click each user > click OK.

3. Type a subject.

4. Type a message.

You can specify many options, such as making this message a high priority, requesting a reply from recipients, and more, by clicking File > Properties.

5. Include any attachments.

6. Click Send.

How do I address a new e-mail message to someone on-campus?  …to a friend off-campus?
   

For addressing someone on campus:

1. Click on the toolbar.

You can select a different mail view by clicking the down arrow in .

2. In the To box, type a username > press Enter. Repeat for additional users.

If necessary, type usernames in the CC and BC boxes.

or

To select usernames from a list, click Address > double-click each user > click OK.

You can specify many options, such as making this message a high priority, requesting a reply from recipients, and more, by clicking File > Properties.

How do I create a Personal Address Book/Personal Contacts list?
   

Creating a Personal Address Book

1. Click on the toolbar.

2. Click File > New Book.

3. Type a name for the new book > click OK.

4. To add names to the new address book, click Add.

5. Click the Entry Type > click OK.

6. Fill in the fields for the entry.

7. Click OK.

You can add and modify records in your personal address books. However, only the system administrator can add and modify records in the system address book.

Editing a Personal Address Book

In a personal address book, you can add or delete entries, edit existing information, copy names from one book to another, or rename a book. You can also create your own information properties (fields).

Editing Names and Addresses in a Personal Address Book

1. Click on the toolbar.

2. Click an address book tab > click the name you want to edit.

3. Click Edit > Edit.

4. Edit the information > click OK.

Copying Names to a New Personal Address Book

1. Click on the toolbar.

2. Open the address book you want to copy.

3. Click File > Save as Book.

4. Type a name for your address book in the box > click OK.

The new address book is represented by a tab with the name you specified. It is also listed in the list of available address books.

Removing Names from a Personal Address Book

1. Click on the toolbar.

2. Click an address book tab > click or Ctrl+click the names you want to remove.

3. Click Remove > Yes.

Importing Addresses into a Personal Address Book

Novell® address book files are ASCII files with specific formatting. They have a .NAB extension. Before you can import any address book, it must be in a .NAB file or have the same formatting.

1. Open the address book you want to import addresses into.

or

Create a new personal address book to import the addresses into.

2. Click File > Import.

3. Select the address book file you want to copy names from > click Open.

To stop the import, press Esc > click Yes.

You cannot import addresses into the system address book.

How do I create a Personal Distribution List?
   

A group is a list of users or resources you can send messages to. Use groups to send a message to several users or resources by typing the group name in the To, BC, or CC boxes. There are two types of groups: public and personal.

A public group is a list of users created by the system administrator and is available for use by each GroupWise user. For example, there may be a public group for the Accounting Department. Each employee in Accounting is included in the group. Public groups are listed in the system address book.

A personal group is a group created by you. For example, if you often send an appointment to your work group, you can include each co-worker's address or name and a meeting place (a resource) in a personal group. Groups are marked with the icon.

Creating and Saving a Personal Group

1. Click on the toolbar.

2. If the Address List is not visible, click Address List.

3. Click To, CC, or BC > double-click or Ctrl+click and drag the users and resources for your group to the Address List.

You can include users from different address books in one group. Groups are marked with the icon.

4. Type any comments you want in the Comments field.

You can add notes about the purpose of the group, or include a list of the names in the group. When you want to access the comments, click Information in the address book window.

5. Click Save Group.

6. Specify a name and personal address book for the group. You can use spaces or any characters in the group name. You can save groups in personal address books only.

7. Click OK.

Addressing Items to a Group

1. In an item view, click Address.

2. Select a group > click To, CC, or BC.

3. Repeat as necessary.

4. Click OK to return to the item view.

Adding and Removing Names from a Personal Group

1. Click > the tab of the address book the group is located in.

2. Select the group > click Edit > Edit Group.

Groups are marked by the icon.

3. Modify the group in the Address List.

The group entries appear in the Address List. You can double-click usernames in the address books to move them into the group or doubleclick usernames in the Address List to remove them from the group.

4. Add or change information in the Comments field.

5. Click Save Group > specify a new name for the group > click OK.

or

Click OK to save the group under its existing name.

 How do I add an automatic “signature” to the bottom of all my messages?
   

Use Signatures to insert a signature or tag-line at the end of items you send.

For example, you can have GroupWise automatically list your name, phone number, and e-mail address at the bottom of every item you send. If you have a number of different accounts, including POP3, IMAP4, and NNTP newsgroup accounts, you can create a different signature for each account.

You can also have GroupWise automatically add a vCard*, or virtual business card, to the end of messages. GroupWise searches the Address Book for your user information and places it at the end of any messages you send.

.vCard Files

vCards are electronic business cards formatted according to standards set by the Internet Mail Consortium. A vCard file has a .VCF extension, and you can add the file to your outgoing e-mail items. Third-party companies create software you can use to create vCards that include text, graphics, and sound.

When you use GroupWise to generate your vCard, it uses the information from the fields in your Address Book listing.

To view a vCard that has been attached to an item, right-click it > click View

Attachment. For information about importing vCard information into an address book.

Adding a Signature or vCard to Items

1. Click Tools > Options > double-click Environment > click the Signature tab.

2. Click Electronic Business Card (vCard) or Signature.

3. If you selected Signature, type the text you want as a signature in the Signature box.

or

If you selected vCard, either specify a .VCF file or leave the field empty to have the vCard use information from your listing in the Address Book.

4. Click Automatically Add to add the signature or vCard to every item you send.

or

Click Prompt Before Adding to give you the choice whether or not to add the signature or vCard every time you send an item.

5. Click OK.

You can have both a signature and a vCard at the same time.

Adding a Signature for POP3/IMAP4/NNTP Accounts

If you have a number of different accounts, including POP3, IMAP4, and NNTP newsgroup accounts, you can create a different signature for each account. You can have both a signature and a vCard at the same time.

1. Click Accounts > Account Options.

2. Click the Mail or News tab.

3. Click the account you want to create the signature for > Properties.

4. Click the Signature tab.

5. Click Electronic Business Card (vCard) or Signature.

6. If you selected Signature, type the text you want as a signature in the Signature box.

or

If you selected vCard, either specify a .VCF file or leave the field empty to have the vCard use information from your listing in the Address Book.

7. Click Automatically Add to add the signature or vCard to every item you send.

or

Click Prompt Before Adding to give you the choice whether or not to add the signature or vCard every time you send an item.

8. Click OK.

How do I attach a file to an email message?   

You can attach one or more files or document references to the items you send.

You can also embed one or more OLE objects. You can use files that exist on your hard disk, a diskette, or a network drive. The recipients can open the attached file, save it, view it, or print it. If you change the attached file after you have sent it, the recipients will not see the changes.

If you attach a file that is password-protected, the recipient cannot open or view the attachment without entering the password.

If the file you want to attach is a document stored in GroupWise Library, you can attach a document reference. When a recipient opens the attachment, the document in the library will open if the recipient has rights to open or view the document and if the library is available. If any recipients do not have sufficient document rights, or if they are not using an e-mail product that supports GroupWise Library, or if the library is unavailable, only a copy of the document will open. If the recipient edits the copy, the changes will not affect the actual document in the library.

1. Open a new item.

2. Fill in the To, Subject, and Message boxes.

3. Click Attach > browse to and select the file or files you want to send.

To remove an attached file, right-click the attachment > click Delete.

4. Click OK > Send.

Moving or deleting a file on a disk or network drive does not affect a file you’ve attached to an item and sent. If you delete an attached file, it is not erased from disk or network drive; it is simply removed from the attachment list.

Attaching a Document Reference to an Item

1. Open a new item.

2. Fill in the To, Subject, and Message boxes.

3. Click Attach > Document Reference.

4. In the Library drop-down list, click the library that contains the document you want to attach.

5. In the Document # box, type the document number.

If you don’t know the number of the document, click Find to locate the document in the library. To attach a document displayed in the Find Results dialog box, click the document > click OK.

6. In the Version drop-down list, click which version you want to attach. If you select Specific Version, type the version number in the Version # box.

7. Click OK > Send.

Attaching Sound Files to an Item

You can add voice or digitally recorded sound files to an item. For example, you might dictate a letter and have the recipient listen to the dictation and type the letter. You must have the appropriate hardware and software drivers installed.

1. In an open item, drag from the status bar onto any area of the view outside of the boxes.

If your computer has the appropriate hardware and software drivers, the Sound Recorder dialog box will appear.

2. Click the circle to begin recording the sound.

3. Click the square to stop the recording.

4. Click File > Exit & Return to GroupWise to close the Sound Recorder dialog box and attach the file to your message.


How do I open/save a file attached to an email message?
   

Opening Attached Files

When you open an attached file, GroupWise determines the correct application to open the file in. You can accept the suggested application, or you can type the path and filename to another application.

1. Open the item containing the attachment.

2. Right-click the attachment > click Open.

or

If you cannot see an icon representing the attachment in your view, click File > Attachments > Open.

Saving an Item to Disk or to a GroupWise Library

1. Click the item you want to save > click File > Save As.

2. Ctrl+click the item and attachments you want to save.

3. Select to save the item to disk or to a GroupWise Library.

4. Type a filename for the item in the Save File As text box.

or

Type a subject name in the Subject box.

5. To save the item in a different directory than is shown in the Current Directory text box, click Browse > select the new directory.

or

To save the item in a different GroupWise Library, click the drop-down list > select a library name.

6. If you are saving to disk, select Report Filename Conflicts to be prompted before replacing a file with the same name.

7. If you are saving to a GroupWise Library, make sure Set Properties Using Default Values is selected unless you want to specify document properties at this time.

8. Click Save > Close.

Saved items remain in your Mailbox as well as being copied to the location you specify. Items are saved in WordPerfect* format, but with a .DOC extension so that they can also be opened in Word. Attachments are saved in their original format.


How do I create an automatic out-of-office (e.g., on vacation) message?   

You can automate many GroupWise actions, such as replying when you’re outof the office, deleting items, or sorting items into folders, by using Rules to define a set of conditions and actions to be performed when an item meets those conditions.

When you create a rule, you must do the following:

  Name the rule.

  Select an event.The event is the trigger that starts the rule.

  Select the types of items that will be affected by the rule.

  Add an action. The action is what you want the rule to do when it is triggered.

  Save the rule.

  Make sure the rule is enabled.
How can I check my e-mail via the Internet when I’m away from my office?   

Remote mode is similar to Caching mode, a copy of the Online mailbox, or the portion of the mailbox that you specify, is stored on your local drive. You can retrieve and send messages on a periodic basis with the type of connection you specify (modem, network, or TCP/IP). You can restrict what is retrieved, such as only new messages or only message subject lines. To use Remote mode, the client installation must be a standard installation, not a workstation installation.

Caching mode stores a copy of your Online (network) mailbox, including messages and other information, on your local drive. You can use GroupWise whether or not your network or Post Office Agent is available. Because you are not connected to the network all the time, this mode cuts down on network traffic and has the best performance. A connection is made periodically to retrieve and send new messages. All updates are performed in the background so GroupWise is not interrupted. This mode requires that you have enough disk space on your local drive to store your mailbox. When you run Caching mode and Remote mode on the same computer, the same local mailbox (also called the Caching mailbox or Remote mailbox) can be used to minimize disk space usage. To use Caching mode, the client installation must be a standard installation, not a workstation installation.




How do I change the look of my calendar screen (e.g., see one day at a time, see a week/month at a time, include Task List or not)   

You can view your schedule in a variety of views or formats, including day, week, month, year, task list, project planner, and multi-user. For example, the month view lets you view a month schedule, while the Multi-User view lets you view, compare, and even manage the schedules of multiple users or resources to whose Calendars you have proxy rights.

You can use Graphic Display to show appointment duration in blocks to visualize time use in your schedule or you can use Text Display to better comprehend the sequence of your appointments. Time intervals in the Appointments List can be adjusted from ten minutes to two hours, depending on how detailed a list you want to see. You can also define your work schedule to display only your office hours on your Calendar. And by using Show Appointment As, you can display levels of availability for appointments in Busy Search and in your Calendar.

Many types of calendar views and printouts are available to let you choose the one that displays the information you need.

The calendar view in the folder list shows several tabbed calendar view options. You can add more tabs to the Calendar and configure them however you want. The view that is displayed when you exit your Calendar will be displayed when you open the Calendar folder again.

1. In your Folder List, click > click the tab of the view you want to display.

or

Click Window > Calendar.

You can view the Calendar in various formats, including week, month, and year. Click a different tab or click the arrow to the right of on the toolbar > click a view.

You can right-click any day in the Calendar to get more options. For example, you can see any day in an expanded view that displays in a separate window.

You can also switch between Graphic Display and Text Display. If you want, you can close your folder list to leave more room for other views in the Main Window. Click View > Folders List to open or close the Folder List display.
How do I create a new appointment on my calendar?
   

Scheduling an Appointment for Yourself

If you are working toward a deadline, are on vacation, or are otherwise not available for meetings, schedule a posted appointment for those times. When another user includes you in an appointment and does a Busy Search, the user can see you are not available at those times.

Posted appointments are placed in your Calendar on the date you specify.

They are not placed in your Mailbox or in any other user’s Mailbox.

1. On the toolbar, click the arrow on the right of > click Posted Appointment.

or

In your Calendar, open a view with an Appointments List > click a date > double-click a time in the Appointments List.

2. Type a subject and a place (optional).

3. Specify the start date and start time if you haven’t already done so.

4. If necessary, click the calendar icon to specify a date or auto-date for your appointment.

5. Specify a duration. Duration can be in minutes, hours, or days.

6. Type a message (optional).

7. Specify a Show Appointment As type by clicking Actions > Show

Appointment As > a type (optional).

8. Click OK.

For both group and posted appointments, being scheduled for a certain period does not prevent you from being scheduled for another appointment at the same time; it simply creates a scheduling conflict. Users who do a busy search will want to avoid double-booking you, but they can if they choose to.
How do I make it a recurring appointment on a particular schedule?   

Scheduling Recurring Items

Use Auto-Date to schedule recurring appointments, tasks, and reminder notes.

For example, if you were responsible for scheduling a department meeting every other week, you could create one auto-date appointment that would schedule the meeting for the entire year. You could also reserve a room and projector with the same appointment.

Auto-Dates can occur on the same day every week (for example, every Monday), the same day(s) of the month (for example, the 15th and last day), or any other defined series of dates. You can also use Auto-Date to schedule irregular or infrequent events, such as holidays.

When you send an auto-date item, GroupWise copies the item and places one of the defined dates in each copy of the item. For example, if you define five dates for the event, GroupWise makes five copies of the item and schedules one copy for each date. If you send the item to other users, you will have five outgoing items with a five-occurrence auto-date. If you receive the event, you will find five copies of the incoming item in your Mailbox, each scheduled for a different date.

You can create an auto-date three ways.

Dates lets you select specific days from a year calendar.

Example lets you schedule events on the same day every week, the same day each month, or periodically.

Formula lets you enter the scheduling information in text format.

Scheduling a Recurring Item by Dates

1. In an item you are scheduling, click Actions > Auto-Date.

2. Click the days to schedule.

3. To move to a different year, click the year button > type the new year >

click OK.

4. If you want to clear all the dates you have selected, click Reset.

5. Click OK.

Scheduling a Recurring Item by Example
1. In an appointment, task, or reminder note you are scheduling, click Actions > Auto-Date.

2. Click the Example tab.

3. In the Range group box, specify the starting date and ending date.

or

To specify a certain number of occurrences rather than a range, specify the starting date > click the End drop-down list > Occurrences > specify the number of occurrences.

4. Click the Days of the Week drop-down list > click an option.

5. Click the months to schedule. To schedule all of the months, double-click any month.

6. If you clicked Days of the Month, click the On drop-down list > an option > click the numbered days to schedule (for example, 1 and 15).

or

If you clicked Days of the Week, click the ordinal number across from the day of the week to schedule (for example, 2nd Tue).

or

If you clicked Periodic, specify a period length (for example, Recur Every 15 Days).

7. If you want to clear the dates you have selected, click Reset.

8. To verify that you scheduled the correct dates, click the Dates tab. The dates you scheduled in the Example tab are selected in the calendars. If Scheduling Group and Posted Items 95 you want to deselect any occurrence, click the days you want to deselect on the Dates tab.

9. Click OK.

Scheduling a Recurring Item Based on Another Day of the Week

You can schedule recurring items for events that occur a specified number of days prior to or after a specified day of the week. For example, you could schedule a meeting on the Monday following the first Sunday of each month (which may or may not be the first Monday of the month).

1. In an appointment, task, or reminder note you are scheduling, click Actions > Auto-Date.

2. Click the Example tab.

3. In the Range group box, specify the starting date and ending date.

4. Click the months you want to include. To include all months, double-click any month in the Months group box.

5. Click one or more ordinal numbers in the row across from the day of the week you want to base your scheduling on (for example, 1st in the Sun row).

6. Click a day of the week (for example, Sun).

7. Specify the number of days to offset (for example, 1) > click OK.

8. To verify the dates you have scheduled, click the Dates tab and check the dates selected in the calendar.

9. Click OK.

Scheduling a Recurring Item Based on the Last Day of the Month

You can schedule recurring items for events that occur a specified number of days before or after the last day of the month. For example, if you want a reminder note to appear in your Reminder Notes List on the second-to-last day of each month, type -1 in Step 8 below.

1. In an appointment, task, or reminder note you are scheduling, click Actions > Auto-Date.

2. Click the Example tab.

3. In the Range group box, specify the starting date and ending date.

4. Click the months you want to include.

To include all months, double-click any month in the Months group box.

5. Click the Days of the Week pop-up list > click Days of the Month.

6. Click one or more days of the week (for example, Mon, Wed, and Fri).

To include all days, double-click any day in the group box.

7. Click Last > click the Last button.

8. Specify the number of days to offset > click OK twice.

9. To verify the dates you have scheduled, click the Dates tab and check the dates selected in the calendar.

10. Click OK.

Scheduling Auto-Dates by Formula

Schedule items this way for events that occur on the same day each week (for example, every Monday), the same day each month (for example, the 15th and last day), or in a defined period of time (for example, every 14 days). You can accomplish the same type of scheduling more easily using the Example and Dates tabs. Formulas should only be used if you are comfortable working with them.

1. In an appointment, task, or reminder note you are scheduling, click Actions > Auto-Date.

2. Click the Formula tab.

3. In the Range group box, specify the starting date and ending date.

or

To specify a certain number of occurrences rather than a range, specify the starting date > click the End drop-down list > Occurrences > specify the number of occurrences.

4. Type the formula text.

5. If you want to clear the Auto-Date dialog box, click Reset.

6. To verify that you have scheduled the correct days, click the Dates tab.

The days you scheduled are selected in the calendar. If you want to deselect any occurrence, click the day you want to deselect on the Dates tab.

7. Click OK.

Using Auto-Date Formula Functions and Operators

You can schedule auto-dated items by formula, dates, or example. Formulas should only be used if you prefer them; scheduling is much easier by dates or example.

Auto-Date Formula Functions

Use the auto-date functions listed below to schedule specific days of a week, month, or year. You must use the exact spelling of the functions. For example, GroupWise reads “tue”, but not “tues”. GroupWise formula functions are not case sensitive.

Day of the Week

For example, TUE would schedule all Tuesdays.

Day of the Month

For example, the number 3 would schedule the 3rd day of the month. Also, the word LAST would schedule the last day of the month.

Day of the Year

For example, 35 would schedule the thirty-fifth day of the year.

Month of the Year

For example, JAN would schedule all days in January.

Year

For example, 2002 would schedule all days in 2002.

Weekday of the Month

For example, TUE(1). This would schedule the first Tuesday of the month.

Also, SUN(LAST) would schedule the last Sunday of the month, and FRI(LAST-1) would schedule the second to last Friday of the month.

Auto-Date Formula Operators

An operator is a character or word you insert in an auto-date formula to perform a specific operation. Each operator is assigned a priority, meaning that when a formula is evaluated, some operations are performed before others.

You can use grouping operators to group operators according to their priorities. The table below lists operators and their priorities. Additional details about the operators are provided following the table.

Grouping Operators

Use parentheses as grouping operators to change the priority of operators or to group functions together for clarification.

Function Priority

A blank space (high-priority And) 1

Plus or + 2

Minus or - 2

To or : 3

Every. . .Starting 4

Every. . .Ending 4

Before 5

On/Before 5

After 5

On/After 5

Near 5

Near/After 5

Or or , 6

Not or ! 6

And or & (low-priority And) 7

Scheduling Group and Posted Items 99

For example, because the high-priority And operator (a space) has a higher priority than the Or operator (a comma), the formula below means that all scheduled days must fall on a Tuesday or must fall on a Thursday and be in the month of July or must be in the month of August.

tue,thu jul,aug

In other words, the formula is performed as if parentheses were inserted as

follows:

(tue,thu) (jul,aug)

Now examine the following formula:

(tue),(thu jul),(aug)

This formula would schedule all Tuesdays, all Thursdays in the month of July,and all days in the months of August. Notice how the meaning changes when parentheses are included as in the formula below.

(tue,thu) (jul,aug)

With the above formula, all scheduled days must fall on a Tuesday or Thursday and must be in the month of July or August. The end result is that only Tuesdays and Thursdays in July and August are scheduled.

High-Priority And

A space between two functions acts as an And operator, meaning that both functions must hold true. For example, 25 means the 25th day of all months in all years. But 25 oct means that all scheduled days must fall on the 25th day of the month and must be in October. And 25 oct 2002 means that all scheduled days must fall on the 25th day of the month and must be in October and must be in the year 2002.

Offset Operators

You can use a positive offset operator (+ or the word PLUS) or a negative offset operator (- or the word MINUS) to add a relative offset to a function or statement.

For example, to schedule an event three days before the first Thursday in February for all years, you could enter the following formula:

thu(1) feb-3

Range

The range operator (: or the word To) functions like a series of Or operators between each item (day, month, etc.) in the range. For example, if you want to schedule the 15th of every month, but only if the 15this a weekday, you could enter either of the following formulas:

15&mon:fri

15(mon:fri)

This formula means that all scheduled days must fall on the 15th of the month and must be a day from Monday to Friday. Another way of describing the formula is that all scheduled days must fall on the 15th of the month and must be a Monday or Tuesday or Wednesday or Thursday or Friday.

Periodic Operators

The three periodic operators are Every, Starting, and Ending. Use Every in combination with Starting and/or Ending to schedule days at regular intervals, beginning on a specific date and/or ending on a specific date. For example, suppose you want to schedule a meeting for once a week starting on March 3, 2002 and continuing through June 11, 2002. You could use the following formula:

every 7 starting mar 3 2002 ending jun 11 2002

The formula will schedule every seventh day starting with March 3, 2002 and ending with June 11, 2002. The starting date is always scheduled as the first day and the ending date is scheduled only if it naturally falls at the Every interval.

If you do not use both the Starting and Ending operators, the starting or ending date is the first or last date in the Calendar file.

For example, examine the following formula:

every 7 starting mar 3 2002

The above formula schedules every seventh day starting on March 3, 2002 and continuing to the last date in the Calendar file. The Every command will work with numbers up to 30. For example, “every 45 starting mar 3 2002” is not a valid formula.

Scheduling Group and Posted Items 101

Relative Operators

The six relative operators are Before, On/Before, After, On/After, Near, and On/Near. Use these operators to schedule days relative to a specific date. For example, to schedule the Monday closest to November 6 in all years, you could enter the following formula:

mon on/near nov 6

If you need to schedule the first Tuesday after November 6, 2002, you could enter the following formula:

tue after nov 6 2002

Or

You can use the Or operator (a comma or the word Or) to indicate that one or the other function or statement must hold true in order to schedule days.

For example, to schedule an appointment on the 15th day of each month in the year 2002, but only if the 15th falls on a Tuesday or Thursday, enter the following formula:

15 2002 (tue,thu)

Not

When placed before a function, the Not operator (! or the word Not) negates that function.

For example, if you want to schedule all days in January 2002 except for Tuesdays and Thursdays, you could use the following formula:

jan 2002 !tue !thu

Low-Priority And

Like a space, the low-priority And operator (& or the word And) between two functions indicates that both functions must hold true. However, the lowpriority And has the lowest priority of all operators.

For example, examine the following formula:

tue,thu jul,aug

This means that scheduled days must be a Tuesday or must be a Thursday and must be in July or must be in August. However, suppose you were to substitute the high-priority And (a space) with a low-priority And, as in the following formula:

tue,thu and jul,aug

The above formula indicates that scheduled days must be a Tuesday or must be a Thursday and must be in July or must be in August. In the first formula, the And operator is evaluated before the Or operators. In the second formula, the And operator is evaluated after the Or operators.

    

Scheduling an Appointment for Other Users

1. Click on the toolbar.

2. In the To, CC, and BC boxes, type a username > press Enter. Repeat for additional users. In addition, include any resource IDs (such as conference rooms) in the To box. If necessary, type usernames in the CC and BC boxes.

or

To select usernames or resources from a list, click Address > double-click each user > click OK.

If you select a location resource in the Address Book, its description is displayed in the Place box and its ID in the To box.

3. Type the place description in the Place box.

4. Specify the start date.

or

Click the calendar icon to specify a date or auto-date for your appointment.

5. Specify a start time and duration. Duration can be in minutes, hours, or days.

6. Type a subject and message.

7. If you want to make sure the people and resources for the appointment are available, you can do a busy search. See Checking When Everyone Is Available later in this section.

8. Click Send.

Checking When Everyone Is Available

Use Busy Search to find a time when all the people and resources you want to schedule for a meeting are available.

1. In an appointment you are creating, specify usernames and resource IDs in the To box.

2. Specify the first possible day for the meeting in the Start Date box.

3. Specify the meeting’s duration.

To exclude a username or resource from the search without deleting it, click the Available Times tab > click the check box next to the user or resource to deselect it. Excluding a person or resource from the search is useful if a user (like a CC recipient) should be invited to a meeting but does not necessarily need to attend. To include a user or resource name that has been excluded, click the check box next to the user or resource to select it.

4. Click Busy.

The legend at the bottom of the Busy Search dialog box shows the meaning of the various Show Appointment As patterns on the grid.

If appears to the left of the username or resource, you can click a scheduled time across from the username or resource on the Individual Schedules tab to display more information about the appointment in the box below. However, the user or resource owner must give you appointment Read rights in their Access List before the icon appears.

5. Click Auto-Select to select the first available meeting time > click OK to transfer the users, resources, and selected time and duration back to the appointment you were scheduling.

or

Click Auto-Select until the time you want is displayed > click OK to transfer the users, resources, and selected time and duration back to the appointment you were scheduling.

or

Click the Available Times tab to see possible meeting times > click a time to select it > click OK to transfer the users, resources, and selected time and duration back to the appointment you were scheduling.

6. To remove a user or resource from the Invite to Meeting list after the search, click the Available Times tab > click the username or resource to remove > press Delete > Yes.

This is useful if you want to include several conference rooms in the search to find one that is available, then eliminate those you do not want.

7. Complete and send the appointment.

If you want to do a busy search before creating an appointment, click Tools > Busy Search. Specify information in the Busy Search dialog box

> click OK to perform a busy search. When you find a time you want for a meeting, click Request Meeting to transfer the information to a new appointment view, then complete the appointment.

You can change the search range for one appointment by scheduling the appointment with Tools > Busy Search and changing the number in the Number of Days to Search box.

Changing Busy Search Options

You can change the search range, time, and days default for all appointments on the Busy Search tab in Date Time Options.

1. Click Tools > Options > double-click Date & Time > click the Busy Search tab.

2. Change the options you want.

3. Click OK.

Rescheduling an Appointment

You can reschedule an appointment if you scheduled the original appointment or if you have the necessary Proxy rights to the scheduler’s Mailbox.

1. Click the Sent Items folder in the Folder List.

2. Click the appointment to reschedule.

3. Click Actions > Resend.

4 If the original appointment was an auto-date appointment, click This Instance or All Instances.

5 Make your changes > click Send.

6 Click Yes to retract the original item.

To reschedule an appointment for a new time on the same day, open your Calendar and drag the appointment to the new time.

Canceling an Appointment

You can cancel an appointment if you scheduled it or if you have the necessary Proxy rights to the scheduler’s Mailbox.

1. Click the Sent Items folder in the Folder List.

2. Click the appointment you want to cancel.

3. Click Edit > Delete.

4. If the original appointment was an auto-date appointment, click This Instance or All Instances.

5. Click All Mailboxes > OK.

 How do I give others the right to check my calendar for my availability for meetings?

…and actually see where I am when most of the time?
…but still keep certain appointments private?
   

Granting Proxy Rights

Use the Access List in Security Options to give other users rights to proxy for you. You can assign each user different rights to your calendaring and messaging information. If you want to let users view specific information about your appointments when they do a Busy Search on your Calendar, give them Read access for appointments. The following table describes the rights you can grant to users:

Adding and Removing Proxy Names and Rights in Your Access List

1. Click Tools > Options.

2. Double-click Security > click the Proxy Access tab.

3. To add a user to the list, type the name in the Name box > when the full name appears, click Add User.

4. Click a user in the Access List.

This right Lets your proxy do this:
Read “Read” items you receive, or view information about appointments.

Write Create and send items in your name, including applying your signature (if you have one defined).

Subscribe to my alarms

Receive the same alarms you receive.

Subscribe to my notifications

Receive notification when you receive items.

Modify options/rules/folders

Change the options in your Mailbox. The proxy can edit any of your Options settings, including the access given to other users. If the proxy also has Mail rights, he or she can create or modify rules and folders.

Archive items Store and read your items in his or her archive folder. If you give a proxy Archive rights, items archived by that proxy may be stored on his or her hard disk and will be inaccessible to you.

Read items marked “Private”

Read the items you marked Private. If you don't give a proxy Private rights, all items marked Private in your Mailbox are hidden from that proxy.

5. Select the rights you want to give to the user.

6. Repeat Steps 4-5 to assign rights to each user in the Access List.

You can select All User Access in the Access List and assign rights to all users in the Address Book. For example, if you want all users to have rights to read your mail, you would assign Read rights to All User Access.

7. To delete a user from the Access List, click the user > Remove User.

8. Click OK.

Managing Someone Else's Mailbox or Calendar

Before you can act as a proxy for someone, that person must give you proxy rights in his or her Access List in Options. The amount of access you have depends on the rights you have been given.

1. If you haven’t already done so, add the username of the person to your Proxy List.

2. In the Main Window or Calendar, click to open the Proxy pop-up list.

3. Click the name of the person whose Mailbox you want to access.

4. When you have finished your work in the other person's Mailbox, click > click your own name to return to your Mailbox.

You can work with several Mailboxes open at one time by opening a new Main Window for each Mailbox (click Window > New Main Window > switch to the Mailbox you want.) You can tell the Mailboxes apart by looking for the Mailbox owner's name, which appears as the root folder label for each Mailbox.

If you have the appropriate Proxy rights, you can view the schedules of multiple users or resources side-by-side.

Adding and Removing Users in Your Proxy List

Before you can act as a proxy for someone, that person must give you proxy rights in his or her Access List in Options, and you must add that person’s name to you Proxy List. The amount of access you have depends on the rights you have been given.

1. In the Main Window or Calendar, click .

2. Click Proxy.

3. To add a user, browse to the name in the Address Book > double-click the name.

The user's Mailbox opens. The name of the person for whom you are acting as proxy is displayed at the top of the Folder List.

4. To remove a user, click the name > Remove.

5. To return to your own Mailbox, click > your name.

You can work with several Mailboxes open at one time. (Click Window > New Main Window > switch to the Mailbox you want.) You can tell the Mailboxes apart by looking for the Mailbox owner's name, which appears as the root folder label for each Mailbox.

Removing a user from your Proxy List does not remove your rights to act as proxy for that user. The user whose Mailbox you access must change your rights in his or her Access List.

chitika

stumbleupon

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Infolinks In Text Ads